The Cherub

Oh, these sweet, sweet angels! These children are such a beautiful gift! I thank God every day for J.

But for this morning, God knew I needed the pick-me-up from an angel that isn’t mine.

I was waiting outside the doors for Mr. C to show up. J was busy greeting everyone that came walking by on their way to or from the front office. I usually park myself just within the alcove to stay out of the weather. It has been cold in the morning in the low to mid 40’s and the windchill does not help. I noticed two little boys also waiting. I knew they were brothers and I had seen them before. I knew that the older brother was a regular 3rd grader and the younger brother was in the Autism program. The older brother was dressed correctly for the cold –jeans and a jacket. The little one was in shorts and a jacket. He was huddled on the ground, trying to figure out how to get the rest of him into his jacket. I felt terrible, but I had nothing on hand and didn’t know what I could do. But that didn’t stop the little one. He stood up, walked over to me, took a long moment to look me over and made up his mind that I was just who he needed. He happens to be non-verbal, but I do know the universal sign for “Pick me up!” He had a huge smile on his face, and I instantly scooped him up. I looked to his brother, who didn’t seem upset by it at all.

“Does he do this to everyone?” I asked. I got an answer in the affirmative. I looked over at J who thankfully didn’t blink an eye and didn’t seem to mind at all that I was holding someone else in my arms.

The little boy wrapped his legs around my waist and his arms tight around my neck. I crooned gently “I’ve got ya!” and held him to me to get warm. He pulled back a little, looking into my face and planted a kiss on my cheek. I just about melted as he squeezed tight again. He let go for just a second to make a happy sound and flap his little hands before returning and snuggling into my chest, putting his little cheek on my shoulder, just happy to be there. Needless to say, my heart just broke for him and I wanted to take him home.

Soon the teachers came out to meet the buses and to start collecting their students for the day. He didn’t want to let go of me, and I was a little sad to have to let him go, but I gave him that closure of “Okay. I count to three and then I put you down.” I later learned that he was living with his grandparents in special circumstance and possibly did not own a pair of pants, so a fellow mom and I pooled some clothes and a jacket together for him.

The following morning, I was happy to see that he was better dressed in a different jacket and jeans. He walked into class and barely gave me a second look, but that’s okay. He’s warmer, and that’s what counts.

#littleangel #coldweather #meltmyheart #awwww #momcanIkeephim

Leave a comment